Fourth Down: What is a catch?
The Kansas City Chiefs were the benefactors of the “Dez Bryant Rule” this week. Tight end Demetrius Harris looked to have a big play over the middle until he dropped the ball. The initial reaction of everyone was that this was a fumble and recovery for the Texans. However, on review, the officials determined that Harris did not complete the catch. Therefore the pass was incomplete, and no fumble occurred.
Naturally, this got all sorts of NFL “experts” going on the controversial catch rule. I, for one, understand the rule. Forget tucking the ball. Forget about “two steps”. The player must either make a football move if still running, or secure the ball if he is going to the ground. Demetrius Harris was going to the ground, so he must secure the ball throughout the process. He did not.
Poster: Chris Wesseling
"The ruling on Chiefs TE Demetrius Harris is the most laughable interpretation of the farce catch rule we’ve seen yet. LMAO, no catch!"
Honestly Chris, I’m not sure what it is that you’re not getting here. The player must catch the ball and make a football move OR secure the ball if he goes to the ground. Tucking the football and two steps do not count as football moves. Harris went to the ground and didn’t hold on…incomplete.