30 Greatest Kansas City Chiefs of All-Time

Next2 of 33Prev
Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Kansas City Chiefs Marcus Allen (Photo by Ed Nessen/Sporting News via Getty Images)

Greatest Kansas City Chiefs All-Time – Honorable Mention: Marcus Allen

Chiefs running back from 1993-1997

Marcus Allen is arguably one of the greatest running backs in the history of the National Football League. He ran for 12,243 yards and caught 587 passes for 5,412 yards during his career.

Allen scored 145 total touchdowns, including a then league record 123 rushing touchdowns. He played for both the Los Angeles Raiders and the Kansas City Chiefs, where he was elected to six Pro Bowls over the course of 16 seasons.

Allen was drafted tenth overall out of USC by the Los Angeles Raiders in the 1982 NFL Draft. While playing for the Raiders, Allen developed into one of the best downhill runners in the history of football. He ran with quickness and power that allowed him to be useful in almost any situation. In Los Angeles, Marcus put up 8,545 rushing yards on 4.1 yards per carry and scored 97 total touchdowns.

He eventually left the Raiders and joined the Kansas City Chiefs in 1993. In his first season with the Chiefs, he scored 12 touchdowns and ran for 764 yards. His 12 touchdowns led the AFC that season, and he and the Chiefs ended up with an AFC Championship Game berth. Allen and the best quarterback of all-time, Joe Montana, led the Chiefs to the AFC Championship game.

The Chiefs won more games than any other NFL team during Allen’s tenure in Kansas City. Before retiring after the 1997 season, he ran for 3,698 yards for Kansas City and scored 47 total touchdowns as well.

He was inducted into the NFL Hall of Fame in 2003, putting the exclamation mark on one of the best running back careers in the last 30 years.

Allen should be remembered as one of the best running backs of all-time, even though he played for the Raiders for way too long (kidding) and wasn’t in KC long enough to make the type of impact he could have if he had been with the Chiefs for his whole career.

  • 1981 Heisman Trophy winner
  • 1981 Maxwell Award winner
  • 1981 Walter Camp Award winner
  • 2000 College Football Hall of Fame inductee
  • 6-time NFL Pro Bowler
  • Super Bowl XVIII Champion (1983)
  • Super Bowl XVIII MVP
  • 1982 NFL Rookie of the Year
  • 1985 NFL MVP
  • 1985 AFC/NFL Offensive Player of the Year
  • 1993 Comeback Player of the Year
  • 2003 Pro Football Hall of Fame inductee

Next2 of 33Prev
Use your ← → (arrows) to browse