Mar 29, 2013; Arlington, TX, USA; Kansas Jayhawks head coach Bill Self reacts during the game against the Michigan Wolverines during the semifinals of the South regional of the 2013 NCAA Tournament at Cowboys Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

Jayhawks To Play Duke, Florida, Georgetown in 2013-2014


Bill Self’s 2013-2014 Jayhawks won’t be taking it easy in the non-conference next season. KU released their non-conference schedule on Thursday which features games against Duke (in Chicago), at Colorado, at Florida, and home to Georgetown.

“We’ve always played a schedule that has a great RPI (rating percentage index),” Self said. “And we’ve always played a tough non-conference schedule that prepared us for the league, but this year our schedule will rival any schedule that we’ve ever played.”

The Jayhawks will be participating in the Battle 4 Atlantis at Paradise Island, Bahamas in November. The first game will be played at Allen Fieldhouse against Towson on November 22 while the other three games will be played in the Bahamas. Brackets have not been set but the field includes Villanova, Tennessee, Iowa, UTEP, Xavier, USC, and Wake Forest.

After playing three non-conference games in Kansas City last season, the Jayhawks will travel to KC just once for a game against New Mexico. New Mexico won the Mountain West Conference regular-season and tournament championship last season. It will be the first time they’ve met since 1964.

Big 12 conference schedules are expected to be released in July.

Which game do you think with be the toughest for Kansas?

***

2013-14 Kansas Men’s Basketball Schedule (as of May 2, 2013)

Date (Day) – Opponent, Site (notes)

Oct. 29 (Tuesday) – PITTSBURG STATE, Lawrence, Kan. (Exhibition)

Nov. 5 (Tuesday) – FORT HAYS STATE, Lawrence, Kan. (Exhibition)

Nov. 8 (Friday) – LOUISIANA MONROE, Lawrence, Kan.

Nov. 12 (Tuesday) – Duke, Chicago, Ill. (Champions Classic, United Center)

Nov. 19 (Tuesday) – IONA, Lawrence, Kan.

Nov. 22 (Friday) – TOWSON, Lawrence, Kan. (Battle 4 Atlantis first round game)

Nov. 28 (Thursday) – TBD, Paradise Island, Bahamas (Battle 4 Atlantis)

Nov. 29 (Friday) – TBD, Paradise Island, Bahamas (Battle 4 Atlantis)

Nov. 30 (Saturday) – TBD, Paradise Island, Bahamas (Battle 4 Atlantis)

Dec. 7 (Saturday) – at Colorado, Boulder, Colo.

Dec. 10 (Saturday) – at Florida, Gainesville, Fla.

Dec. 14 (Saturday) – NEW MEXICO, Kansas City, Mo. (Kansas City Shootout at Sprint Center)

Dec. 21 (Saturday) – GEORGETOWN, Lawrence, Kan.

Dec. 30 (Monday) – TOLEDO, Lawrence, Kan.

Jan. 5 (Sunday) – SAN DIEGO STATE, Lawrence, Kan.

Tags: Featured Kansas Jayhawks Popular