Feb 27, 2013; Fort Worth, TX, USA; Oklahoma State Cowboys guard Marcus Smart (33) guards against TCU Horned Frogs guard Kyan Anderson (5) during the second half at the Daniel-Meyer Coliseum. Oklahoma State Cowboys won 64-47. Mandatory Credit: Jim Cowsert-USA TODAY Sports

Kansas Jayhawks & Kansas State Wildcats Showered With Big 12 Awards

As expected when two teams share the Big 12 Conference basketball championship, players on those teams enjoy plenty of post season accolades. The Kansas Jayhawks and the Kansas State Wildcats were well represented on the All-Big 12 teams for the 2012-2013 basketball season.

The Jayhawks’ Jeff Withey and Ben McLemore joined the Wildcats’ Rodney McGruder on the All-Big 12 First Team, along with Oklahoma State‘s Marcus Smart and Oklahoma‘s Romero Osby. Smart was named the Big 12 Player of the Year.  KU’s Travis Releford and KSU’s Angel Rodriguez were named to the league’s Second Team, with Baylor’s Pierre Jackson, Iowa State’s Will Clyburn, and OSU’s Markel Brown. One thing stuck out as odd when the conference’s leading scorer and assist man, Pierre Jackson, did not make the First Team.  Third Team honorees including Isaiah Austin of Baylor, Melvin Ejim from ISU, Amath M’Baye and Steven Pledger from Oklahoma, and Le’Bryan Nash from OSU. Elijah Johnson from Kansas and Shane Southwell from Kansas State gained Honorable Mention.

The laurels don’t stop there. The Kansas State Wildcats were picked to finish fifth in the pre-season polls but played good, consistent ball all season and finished in a tie for first place. Wildcat head coach Bruce Weber was rewarded as the conference’s Coach of the Year for leading KSU to  a 14-4 league record and a 25-6 mark overall.

The schools from the Sunflower State also played defense. Jeff Withey and Travis Releford from Kansas made the Big 12 Defensive Team, along with Angel Rodriguez for the Wildcats. Chris Babb from Iowa State and Oklahoma State’s Michael Cobbins rounded out the defensive team. Jeff Withey was an unanimous selection for Defensive Player of the Year.

KU’s Mclemore joined Smart as unanimous choices for the All Big 12 Rookie Team. ISU’s Clyburn and Georges Niang, OU’s Amath M’Baye, and Baylor’s Isaiah Austin filled out the rookie team. Smart was Freshman of the Year and Clyburn was Newcomer of the Year.

Iowa State also  had Tyrus McGee named as the conference’s best Sixth Man and Melvin Ejim as the Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Tags: Ben McLemore Big 12 Conference Bruce Weber Jeff Withey Kansas Jayhawks Kansas State Wildcats Marcus Smart

comments powered by Disqus